Skip to content

Management

In this section you learn more about managing dataviews: saving, describing, sharing and duplicating.

Saving Dataviews§

Dataviews behave unusually within Yesplan because they are not saved automatically. Once you have created a dataview you must always explicitly save the changes by clicking on “Save Changes”. The advantage is that you can experiment in a dataview without Yesplan saving the changes automatically in the background.

You can save a copy of the dataview by clicking on “Save As…” and choosing a name. You can also duplicate dataviews on the overview page (see Create a New Dataview).

Describing Dataviews§

It is not always easy to summarize the aim of a dataview in a name. That’s why you are allowed to add description.

On the overview page:

  • Click on the button with three dots next to the name of the dataview.
  • Choose “Edit Description” in the context menu.
  • Edit the description and click on “OK”.

In the dataview:

  • Click on the information icon next to the name of the dataview to open the popover.
  • Enter a description.
  • Close the popover.

The title, owner and description will be searched for queries on the dataviews overview page. Using a description helps you find the right dataview easily.

Sharing Dataviews§

Initially dataviews are only visible for yourself and administrators. To make them visible for other users or user groups, you must share them.

On the overview page:

  • Click on the button with three dots next to the name of the dataview.
  • Choose “Share” in the context menu.

In the dataview:

  • Click on the text “Not shared” or “Shared with n users” next to the name of the owner.

In the inspector you can share the dataview with another user of user group:

  • Click on “Add User Group or User”.
  • Enter the name of the user or group in the search field.
  • Click on the desired user or group in the suggestions.
  • Choose what the user can do with the dataview.

The following options are available when sharing a dataview:

  • Can View
    • view the dataview
    • enter parameters
    • if the user edits something else, the dataview must be duplicated (for example via “Save As”).
  • Can Edit
    • all actions under ‘Can View’
    • edit the dataview and save without duplicating: filters, columns, parameters, name and description.
  • Can Edit and Delete
    • all actions under ‘Can Edit’
    • delete the dataview
  • Make Owner
    • all actions under ‘Can Edit and Delete’
    • share the dataview

Using Dataviews§

Once a dataview satisfies your wishes, you can request data and inspect it. With the “Export” button you save them locally as an Excel file.

Requesting Data§

If the dataview contains parameters, you can enter them by clicking on “Fill Out Parameters”. You can enter the desired values in the blue fields and click on “Show Results”. The table will contain all the data that satisfies the filters.

Sort the table according to the content of a column by clicking on the triangles in the table header. Click on the left or right edge of a table header and drag the cursor to make the column wider or narrower.

Inspecting Data§

There are different ways to inspect the data in a table:

  • Double-click on a row to open the inspector for that object or right-click on a row and choose “Show Info”.
  • If a value appears blue in a column then you can click on it to open an inspector.