Skip to content

Users

In the “Users” screen, an administrator can edit the identification details of a user, determine which user groups a user belongs to, and determine which permissions and privileges are applicable to users.

User Identification§

The first five columns of the users list show details that identify the user in Yesplan. The details can be edited by double-clicking on the values.

  • Name: the full name of the user as it will be displayed in Yesplan.

  • Email: the user’s email address. This address will be used by Yesplan for uploading notifications and as identification for the helpdesk. Users can sign in using the email address.

  • Username: the user’s username, which can be used to sign into Yesplan. Please note that this name must be unique in Yesplan.

  • Password: the user’s password, which is needed to sign into Yesplan. Please note: after signing in for the first time, users can set their own password (under User Settings). If they forget their password, users can set a new password via a link on the Yesplan login page.

  • Password Strength: indication of the strength of the user’s password, based on the complexity of the password and the estimated time it would take to crack the password. Modified in v27 Yesplan will only accept strong passwords. When you enter a weak password you are given tips on how to make it stronger.

Remark

Yesplan determines the Password Strength via the “zxcvbn” tool:

Attention

Users can sign in using their username or email address, in combination with their password.

If the same email address is used multiple times and is not uniquely linked to one user, then these users cannot sign in with the email address. They will have to sign in with their username. Moreover, they can only reset their password from the login screen by entering their username. If they enter the email address, they will not receive an email to change the password.

Double use of the same email address is indicated in the list via an exclamation point next to the email addresses.

Awarding User Groups and Permissions§

A user’s permissions are determined in Yesplan based on the user groups to which the user belongs and the permission templates that are applicable for the user. You’ll find more details in the Permissions Manual.

In the users list, an administrator can determine which user groups and templates are applicable for a user:

  • User Groups: in this column, a user is assigned to one or more user groups. Creating and editing user groups is described below.

  • Primary Group: this is the user group to which the user primarily belongs. Within Yesplan this concept is important for determining permissions and for filtering elements that belong to the user’s primary group.

    For example, the administrator can determine which permissions a user can grant to other users who belong to the same primary group (for more information, see the Permissions Manual). When filtering elements in Yesplan (when the “My User Group Only” filter is active – this is set under System Preferences), objects will only be displayed if the current user belongs to the primary group of the owner of the object.

    Since a user group can belong to another user group in Yesplan, in the drop-down menu of the primary group the administrator will see all the user groups that the user belongs to and all overlying groups to which the user’s user groups belong.

  • Permission Templates: here the administrator can determine which permission templates are applicable for the user. If multiple templates are chosen, then the permissions of all chosen templates are applicable.

In the last column, the administrator can request a summary of a user’s permissions by clicking on “Show Permission Settings”.

Creating Administrators§

The user needs administrator privileges to edit settings, create users, etc. Yesplan supports two kinds of administrators:

  • General administrator: these users have access to the system settings and have permission to view the elements of other users. By activating the checkbox in the “Administrator” column, you turn a specific user into an administrator.

  • User group administrator: these users have limited administrator permissions. They can manage the users of one or more user groups and they have access to the configuration of the locations that belong to these user groups. In the “User Group Administrator” column, user groups can be added that a user can manage.

Once a user is a general administrator they can manage all user groups. It is not possible to make them administrators for separate user groups.

Adding Users§

Users can be added by clicking on “Add a User” at the bottom of the users list.

To add a user, you must enter a username, password and name; optionally you can also enter an email address.

When entering the password, Yesplan will indicate the password strength while typing (based on the complexity of the password and the estimated time it would take to crack the password). Yesplan will only accept strong passwords. When you enter a weak password you are given tips on how to make it stronger.

A Yesplan user must always be linked to a human resource (the resource type = Human). When creating a user, this linked resource will also be created automatically by default. It is possible to link a user to an existing resource by deactivating the checkbox next to “Create a linked resource” and then choosing a resource from the list that appears. Please note: the list only displays resources whose name is an exact match with that of the user that you are creating, and who are not linked with another user.

A Yesplan user can also be linked to a contact, but this is not required.. When creating a user, a matching contact will also be created by default. If this is not desired, deactivate the checkbox next to “Create a linked contact”.

You can also link the user to an existing contact (by clicking on “Link with Existing Contact”). Just like with resources, only the contacts will be displayed whose name is an exact match with that of the user.

When Yesplan has the necessary information to create the user, the “Add” button will be active.

Deleting Users§

You can delete a user from Yesplan in two steps:

  1. suspend
  2. transfer ownership and delete.

Suspending a User§

You suspend a user by clicking on “Suspend User” in the last column of the users list. This has a few consequences:

  • The user in question can no longer sign in.
  • The linked human resource is no longer visible, not even in the Teamplanner.

Other aspects of the user are retained:

  • all bookings of the linked human resource
  • the ownership of items (events, contacts, resources, etc.) and their associated permissions.

Suspended users do not immediately disappear from the system definitively; they are placed in a list of suspended users.

Transferring and Deleting Ownership§

You can open the list of suspended users by clicking on the “Show Suspended Users” link under the list of users. You will find three actions in the last column:

  • Show Permission Settings: you can view the permissions of the suspended user here.

  • Restore User: when you click on this, the suspended user is reactivated:

    • The user will be able to sign into Yesplan again.
    • The linked human resource becomes visible again, also in the Teamplanner. The counters in the Teamplanner will also be repaired.
  • Move Ownership to Other User and Delete Permanently: In Yesplan, every item has an owner. A suspended user can only be deleted permanently if this user’s items (events, contacts, resources, etc.) are transferred to an active user. When you click on this, you’ll see a list of users to whom the items can be assigned. Once a user is chosen from this list, the suspended user will be removed for good.