Skip to content

Events

Events play a central role within Yesplan. Below is an overview of the configuration capabilities for events in the system settings.

Custom Data§

Inspector Tabs§

Statuses§

Event statuses are managed under system settings, under the “Events” tab, by the “Statuses” section.

This screen displays a list of statuses that are used in Yesplan. A new status is added by entering the fields in the last row of the table and clicking on “Add”.

You can set the following fields for each status:

  • Name: The name of the status (name of your choice). This name can be changed by double-clicking on it.

  • Type: Types are optional; they ensure that a status receives a certain meaning in Yesplan. A status can have one or more types.

    Here are the different types in Yesplan:

    • Option: This type influences the way that events, which are booked on the same day and the same location, are displayed in the calendar. Events that have a status of the option type are numbered and sorted in the calendar so that you know which option was placed in the calendar first.

      The sorting order of events with the status type ‘option’ is determined based on the moment when the event was created OR based on the moment when the event was booked in the location. This can be set under System Preferences.

    • ..Allow Actuals: you can add actual numbers and actual times for bookings on events with this status. For example, you can enable subsequent costing or add actual hours for human resources.

    • Locked: A status of this type ensures that the date, location, name of the event and name of the event group cannot be edited, and that the event cannot be deleted. You typically want to use this for events that are confirmed. A grey lock is added to these events.

      There is a permission that allows locked events to be unlocked temporarily. For the time being users with this capability can alter the name, location or date of these events by clicking the lock open. These users can also delete the event after unlocking it, if they were given permission to do so.

      Event groups that contain one or more events with the status of locked are also protected. A group that contains one or more locked events cannot be deleted entirely. Events within this group that are not locked can be moved or deleted.

  • Background Color: determines the background color of cells in the calendar for events with this status. Click on the color to customize it.

  • Text Color: determines the text color of the event’s name in de calendar for events with this status. Click on the color to customize it.

These capabilities are also available:

  • Set as default: This is the status that is automatically awarded to new events.

  • Delete: Deleting a status is only possible if it is not being used anywhere as a condition for determining the visibility of custom data AND if the status is not the default status. Please note that there must always be a default status.

  • Up/Down: to set the order of the statuses. Please note that the order of statuses is important when awarding permissions on those statuses. See Use of statuses in the manual on managing permissions in Yesplan.

Profiles§

Event profiles are managed under system settings, under the “Events” tab, by the “Profiles” section.

This screen displays an alphabetically ordered list of profiles that are used in Yesplan,. A new profile is added by entering the fields in the last row of the table and clicking on “Add”.

You can set the following fields for each profile:

  • Name: the name of the profile (name of your choice). This name can be changed by double-clicking on it.

  • Border Color: determines the border color of cells in the calendar. Click on the color to customize it.

These capabilities are also available:

  • Set as default for new users: this profile is awarded automatically to new events for new users. They can adapt this: see Assigning a Profile and Status for more information.

  • Delete: Deleting a profile is only possible if it is not being used anywhere as a condition for determining the visibility of custom data AND if the profile is not the default profile.

Labels§

Time Schedule Descriptions§

Date Decorations§

Date decorations are managed under system settings, under the “Events” tab, by the “Date Decorations” section.

This screen displays an alphabetically ordered list of date decorations that are used in Yesplan. A new date decoration is added by entering the fields in the last row of the table and clicking on “Add”.

Remark

You must sign out of Yesplan and sign back in before date decoration changes are visible in the calendar.

You can set the following fields for every date decoration:

  • Name: the name of the date decoration (name of your choice). This name can be changed by double-clicking on it.

  • Text Color: determines the text color of a date with this date decoration in the calendar. Click on the color to customize it.

  • Border Color: determines the border color of a date with this date decoration in the calendar. Click on the color to customize it.

  • iCalendar: In addition to manually setting a date decoration, date by date, it is also possible to link a date decoration to an iCalendar file. All the dates in the future that appear in the iCalendar file are automatically given this date decoration in Yesplan. This is handy for displaying public holidays in the calendar, without having to input each of the date decorations manually.

    There are two ways to link an iCalendar file to a date decoration:

    • Via a URL: Click on “Import from URL”, enter the URL of the iCalendar file and click “OK”. The URL of the file will be displayed, together with the date and time when the link was last updated in Yesplan. The link is not updated automatically; an administrator can refresh the link manually by clicking on “Refresh”. Dates in the past will not be updated when you click on “Refresh”.

    • Via a file: Click “Upload File”, then “Choose File” to look for the file on your computer. If the file is processed correctly, you will see the date and time when the file was uploaded. The file can be downloaded later if desired (by clicking on “Download”).

    You can undo a link with an iCalendar file. Click on “Edit” next to the URL of the file. Then choose “Delete iCalendar (and all its date decorations)” and the link will be deleted along with the date decorations of all dates that were in the iCalendar file. Alternatively, you can choose “Delete iCalendar, but leave past date decorations”. In this case only date decorations in the future will be deleted.